Journal of Interprofessional Care Baldwin Award Winner!

By | 6th April 2018

The Journal of Interprofessional Care’s Baldwin Award is in recognition of DeWitt ‘Bud’ Baldwin Jr.’s lifelong and distinguished contribution to interprofessional care. It was first awarded in 2009 for the best article of the 2008 volume of the Journal of Interprofessional Care. Each year since, a panel of judges recruited from the Journal’s Editorial Board assesses the original articles published in a single volume and decides upon the winner based upon five criteria for scholarly quality. Below, we outline the judging process and then provide details on the outcome of the Baldwin Award: the Winner, Runner Up and Honourable Mentions.

Adjudication process
In judging the quality of work published in the Journal we used established criteria to select the winners. Each article was judged on the following: (1) adds significantly to the evidence base informing interprofessional education/practice; (2) has potential to have a significant impact on theory informing interprofessional education/practice; (3) has potential to have a significant impact on research design in interprofessional education/practice; (4) has clarity and cogency (i.e. written well, clearly argued); and (5) shows innovation in the field of interprofessional education/practice.

Articles are scored on a scale from 1 to 10 on each criterion listed above. Only articles (not commentaries, IPEP guides, short reports, editorials) were considered for the Baldwin Award.  The judging process changed this year to provide a more expedient approach. First, all articles in Volume 30 were initially assessed by one of the judges who selected the ten best. Second, all judges individually assessed and scored these articles. Results from this assessment were collated, discussed and agreed between the three judges to arrive at a final set of results.


Baldwin Award winner
We came to a unanimous decision that the winners of the Baldwin Award are the authors of the following paper:

Professional identity acquisition process model in interprofessional education using structural equation modelling: 10-year initiative survey

by Nana Kururi, Fusae Tozato, Bumsuk Lee, Hiroko Kazama, Shiori Katsuyama, Maiko Takahashi, Yumiko Abe, Hiroki Matsui, Yoshiharu Tokita, Takayuki Saitoh, Shiomi Kanaizumi, Takatoshi Makino, Hiromitsu Shinozaki, Takehiko Yamaji & Hideomi Watanabe

This paper provides an extremely insightful examination of health students’ identity using the professional identity acquisition process model with an impressively large dataset gathered over a ten year period involving over 1,500 students.


Runner Up
We would also like to congratulate the Runner Up which the judges felt provides a strong contribution to the Journal:

Exploring the importance of team psychological safety in the development of two interprofessional teams

by Denise O’Leary

This paper provides a very thoughtful account of an interprofessional change management initiative involving a range of professionals based in a residential care setting that used a team psychological safety approach to frame study findings.


Honourable Mentions
In addition, it was agreed that Honourable Mentions should go to the following papers which all scored highly in our assessments:

A conceptual review of interprofessional expertise in child safeguarding

by Rick Hood, Judy Gillespie & Jonathon Davies


Interprofessional education in mental health: An opportunity to reduce mental illness stigma

by K. Amanda Maranzan


Observing of interprofessional collaboration in simulation: A socio-material approach

by Sofia Nyström, Johanna Dahlberg, Håkan Hult & Madeleine Abrandt Dahlgren


A critical narrative analysis of shared decision-making in acute inpatient mental health care

by Gemma Stacey, Anne Felton, Alastair Morgan, Theo Stickley, Martin Willis, Bob Diamond, Philip Houghton, Beverley Johnson & John Dumenya


We congratulate the winning authors, the runner-up and those with honourable mentions on their excellent articles. These papers represent the very best of the work published in Volume 30 of the Journal.

We would also like to acknowledge all authors who published their papers in this volume of the Journal. These contributions provide a rich, vibrant and engaging collection of work which inform and illuminate the interprofessional field.


Scott Reeves, Joanne Goldman, John Toner
Baldwin Award Judges, Journal of Interprofessional Care